h1

It’s always interesting . . .

September 13, 2008

when someone decides to drop you from his/her friends list without warning.

I’ll admit that I’m not the best SL friend. When I’m online, I spend most of my time alone, either working on something or shopping. I may IM back and forth a little, but much of the time I don’t initiate it. It’s not that I don’t like talking with those on my friends list—my mind just always seems to be elsewhere.

Anyway, I’ve recently noticed some people have dropped me, which is fine . . . I guess. One of them was one of my first SL friends, though, and even though I haven’t really talked to her in a while, it still feels like a loss. Another was someone who acted very, very interested in me and shared some RL stuff with me. A third was someone who apparently killed off his character today. At least, that’s what he says in his profile.

Maybe we all just went in different directions. Maybe I’m just a bad friend. I don’t know. It just feels big to me to actually remove someone from my list, and I’ve only done it with a few people—mainly guys who tried to hit me up for SLex :/ It always makes me wonder if I’ve failed someone . . .

8 comments

  1. As in life – the path is not always to be determined.

    Continue the cyberspace route – may it bring friendships along the way.


  2. Time changes everything and sometimes friendships just run their course. Like you, I find it very hard to drop anyone from my list, but sometimes, you just have to take a deep breath and move on.

    Having said that – you are still very much on my list and I really must IM you out of your solitude soon LOL


  3. I know how you feel lady. Someone I talked to on a daily basis just suddenly removed me no explanation. I was so upset. I just wanted to say that you are one of the reason I am still in this game. You are one of the most loveliest, caring friend I know ( in sl and in rl) and you not being a good friend sounds like craziness. Everyone is guilty of losing touch or drifting away in SL. It all depends on what is going on in your sl and nothing really prepares you when someone suddenly takes you of their list. I say…if someone takes you off their list it’s their loss. Ims work both ways ya know. 🙂 Now enough of the mushy things..cause you know I might have to cut you!


  4. Yo girlfriend you want Chlowanda and me to bust some knee caps? No one messes with my homegirl yo.


  5. How long is your friends list anyways? Hmm mine is too long that I would not notice if someone dropped me. Hmm, though I do sometimes hunt for particular names and I do remember a time when I found some names dropped from my list, and felt as you do… wondering why and stuff especially when I had considered them as a friend.

    I think some people just keep main friends and that is it.

    Hey also, there is nothing wrong with spending a lot of time a lone. We all need our rest and time to think.


  6. Not I, said the cute neko =3


  7. Consider the idea of checking with your friends. I’ve heard of two instances now where people have been dropped from a friends list, feelings hurt, and then it turns out that it was an SL glitch, rather than an intentional drop.


  8. chloe, hi.



Leave a Reply

