h1

What SL is all about

January 4, 2008

Yesterday, I wasn’t having the best day. Nothing was going terribly wrong, but there were numerous little blunders and disappointments that gave me an overall *blah* feeling. Usually when things go this way, the whole day is shot, and I can’t wait until I can get a fresh start again the next morning.

But yesterday, after returning home from work, tired and a little grumpy, I logged into SL, and that made all the difference . . .

I began by talking to Annie. Yeah, you all know Annie. I’ve only mentioned her on here like a thousand times ๐Ÿ˜‰ Anyway, it was the first time we’d had a chance to talk in a while, and it was great to catch up on things. Also, she told me that her band Toe’d Up is playing in world a week from Sunday! It’s been a long, long time since I’ve had an opportunity to listen to them, so it will be great to hear them again! For anyone who’s interested, I’ll post the info as their gig approaches. You really should make an effort to attend, because they really are great!

While speaking to Annie, I thought I’d go check out some of my old SL haunts. And by old, I mean first-month-in-world old. I started out at The Blue Tattoo. It was here that I first met my friend Tommy, with whom I used to play poker (until he took all my lindens on more than one occasion). Back then, the Tattoo was separated into a dance area and a poker area. Sadly, the poker area is gone, and the dance floor is much different than it used to be. Though I recognized a few people there, I don’t think anyone had a clue about who I was. Maybe if I had put on my old newbie hair and clothes . . . ๐Ÿ™‚

I tped from the Tattoo to the Voodoo Lounge, another club I discovered early in my SL days. I remember walking into the Lounge when no more than a week or so old wearing blinging earrings, shoes that lit up, and bat wings. Yep, that was when gaudy was in style ๐Ÿ˜‰ It was at the Lounge that I met my friend Sexy, who unfortunately decided to leave SL this week :/ Anyway, the Lounge had changed since my early days as well, but not to the extent of the Tattoo. I didn’t recognize anyone at the Lounge, though, and I was ready to tp out when it happened . . .

Rosie Barthlemess tped in!

I probably sat here with my mouth gaping open like an idiot when it happened. I mean, what are the chances I run into someone I have never met in world but admire on the ultra-rare occasion of visiting an old club? I was *so* excited and couldn’t help but inundate her with IMs the whole time she was at the club ๐Ÿ™‚

Eventually, Tobie came online, so I tped home after Rosie returned to her club (she was scouting the DJ at Voodoo). It was the first time Tobie and I had been able to spend time together since I proposed to her. Let me say, it made me *so* happy to see her again! It’s like we both get wrapped up in our other SL activities, but when we get together, we wonder why we spend so much time apart ๐Ÿ™‚

Tobie had yet to go to the new sim for Kyoot Army (a landmark for which Annie had fortunately provided me earlier in the evening), so Tobie and I went to see it. After we did a little shopping (Tobie gave me a gift card with which I bought a lovely gown from Kyoot), we plopped down on some pillows in a store called little things (I think that’s what it was called, at least). While we sat chatting, both of us dolled up in our new dresses, Saeya Nyanda walked by.

I had seen Saeya in Imogen one night while hanging out with Dirk, but I didn’t say anything to her. I’m glad that she stopped by to chat with Tobie and I, as I found her to not only be a talented designer, but a very friendly, cool person as well ๐Ÿ™‚

So, regarding the titleโ€”yeah, to me, this is what SL is all about. After a rough day in RL, all I had to do was log into SL to turn things around. I got to speak with good friends, the kitten I love, and I got to meet two very cool, intelligent ladies whom I’ve admired for some time! This is why I keep coming back ๐Ÿ™‚

6 comments

  1. Ohhhh it was sooooooooo lovely chatting with you Chloe! We have to actually meet up soon its been far too long! :))

    A.K.A….erm I mean Annie haha x


  2. Yep, this really is what SL is all about =)

    And when I’m with you, I get the attitude of “Feh, Midian City and The Catwalkers can do without me for the next few hours or so…” ๐Ÿ˜‰ That’s something I need to do more often. I’m so happy to have you back in world, babe =)


  3. I need to remember to get out Midian more often… But every time I leave I come back to complete and utter chaos… ^_^


  4. Annie: I’m glad we finally got to meet up yesterday. Plus, we went shopping. We accomplished all sorts of things ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Tobie: I’m glad to be back with you. We have a lot of lost time to make up for ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Shadey: You should try to break away more. There’s a lot out in SL to explore ๐Ÿ™‚


  5. I’m just not good at getting out of Midian on my own… And most (90%) of my friends list is from there… ^_^


  6. Well, I may just have to drag you out sometime ๐Ÿ™‚



Leave a Reply

