h1

Ocho cosas

December 7, 2007

That’s “eight things” in Spanish. Bet you didn’t know I could speak (some) Spanish, did you? Hmm . . . maybe I can count that as one of my things 😉

Anyway, in case you are one of the people who is somehow unaware of this meme, here are the rules:

  1. Each player starts with eight random facts/habits about him/herself.
  2. People who are tagged need to write a post on their own blog (about their eight things) and post these rules.
  3. At the end of your blog, you need to choose eight people to get tagged and list their names.
  4. Don’t forget to leave them a comment telling them they’re tagged, and to read your blog.

Five different people (that I’m aware of) tagged me, so I guess I’m socially obligated to participate. *sighs and shakes head*

OK, now that I’ve acted all reluctant to talk about myself at length, here are my eight things. Following what Brandy Rasmuson did on her blog, I’m going to have a list of RL facts and SL facts, though I’m only doing four of both. Some of these you’ve probably seen me mention before, but I’ll try to expand on them a bit so that it doesn’t seem that I’m just rehashing things.

SL Facts

  1. When I started SL, my intention was to create an avie that matched the RL me as closely as possible. Of course, never really having created a character, my first attempt wasn’t very close. Afterwards, I redid my avie’s face, and for the most part, I haven’t changed her face since (though I have made body modifications). She still doesn’t look a *lot* like me, but I’ve used her for so long that I can’t bear to change her now. In fact, Tobie try to help me work on my shape once and tweaked just a couple of things on my avie’s face, but I couldn’t keep the changes because it didn’t seem like me anymore.
  2. I blame Tobie for my transformation into a neko. Her pictures were some of the first I noticed after using Flickr, and I don’t think I would have bought my first neko skin, ears, and tail if it weren’t for her pics. I don’t think I would have ever dreamed in those days that we would end up together 🙂
  3. I rented a small plot of land for a while in my early days, and nearby someone had built a park. Sometimes, I would walk to that park and just sit and think once I arrived. I still go back to that park on occasion, though I haven’t rented land there since my first month.
  4. I tend to get awestruck when I see someone in world whom I recognize from the blogosphere or Flickr. I have to restrain myself sometimes, because my first impulse is to go bother them as they do their shopping, etc. I think my first chance encounter was with Sidney Smalls, whose pics I recognized from Flickr. Since then, I’ve come across Stephanie Misfit, Swirly Cyclone, Juushika Redgrave, and Brandy Rasmuson (off the top of my head), but I kept myself from pouncing on the opportunity to talk to them.

RL Facts

  1. My RL name is actually Clara, but everyone has called me Chloe for as long as I can remember. I don’t know who started it or why, but I’m glad he/she did 🙂
  2. In my late childhood into my teenage years, I was overweight. Even though I lost the weight and have maintained the weight loss for nearly a decade now (with slight fluctuations), I still feel the impact of what it was like to be . . . well, fat (don’t like using that word). This is why I think it’s so awesome when I see someone in SL who chooses to make a larger avie. I couldn’t overcome the stigma and be happy with who I was (I am still scared to death of putting on weight), and I’m really proud of those who are strong enough to do so. If more people had that kind of strength, maybe we could get rid of the stigma and cut down on eating disorders. Edit—ugh, re-reading this, it sounds like I tried to put some big PC spin on this.  I really am sincere, though.
  3. When I was a child, I believed that the name someone was given at birth had a lasting effect on that person’s personality. I think I came to this conclusion after I perceived common traits among people who had the same name. Because of all of this, I decided that when I had children, I would name them after great authors, musicians, etc., so that they would be successful as adults.
  4. Though I am not a gamer at all, I have played through every Silent Hill game, except for the newest one they released for the PSP. An ex (who was a big gamer) introduced me to them, and after being totally scared and freaked out by the first game, I was hooked. I really want to create avies for some of the characters in SL (I made a Maria costume, but it still needs some work).

That’s it! I am not tagging anyone because everyone has been tagged already! Well, not everyone has, but I can’t think of someone who is currently blogging who hasn’t been tagged. If you did manage to fly under the radar, consider yourself lucky 😉

7 comments

  1. Huh! Some stuff even *I* didn’t know!

    *Pokes Chloe*

    What else have you been keeping from me, huh? Huh?


  2. Um, I think you’re the nicest, cutest, and smartest neko in SL. Have I ever told you that? 😉


  3. Oh! I love Clara!!!! I like really old-fashion names, such as Constance, George, all flowers, Agatha! lol #3 is why I refuse to name my male children Jake, Chaz, Chad, Zac, Wesley, etc. lol #4 on SL is the same with me!


  4. *blushes and mews quietly*


  5. Adia: Well, at least one of us is a fan of “Clara.” 😉 Just saying the name makes me feel old . . .

    Tobie: You’re so cute when you blush. I know I’ve told you that 😀


  6. O.o

    All. New. Info.

    I need to check this blog more often.

    Dude, I haven’t seen you in ages. WTF.


  7. Dude. I can’t stay up late anymore. You need to get on earlier.

    I’ve missed you, buddy. Sho nuff 😉



Leave a Reply

