h1

Network TV takes notice of SL?

September 30, 2007

From the NBC.com page for Law & Order: Special Victims Unit:

AVATAR | TV-14 DV | 10/9c | 10.02.07
A woman involved in virtual reality video games goes missing, and her “avatar” is at the root of the investigation.

I’ve actually never watched the show before, but I’m planning on catching this one. From the commercial, it looks very much like the “virtual reality video game” is based on Second Life.

It appears to be another internet predator storyline :/ Though I think it’s probably only going to further the stigma against SL, I’ll hold off judgment until I see the show.

4 comments

  1. I have a bad feeling. That is all I have to say, though I would like to see it. I hope they mention that is only .000000000001% of the people on these sites.


  2. are like this.


  3. People disappear everyday, huh ? And missing people were for sure involved in a bunch of things, we all are, each day of our lives. We meet other people over in the internet, restaurants, clubs, libraries, stores, working places… Up to each one of us to trust others or not – in anycase, there’s always the option to stay home, close all windows and doors and live like hermits, right ? 😉


  4. I saw another commercial for the episode, and it appears that it’s going to focus on virtual sex that is carried over into RL with disastrous consequences.

    So, yeah, I don’t think this casts platforms like SL in a favorable light.



Leave a Reply

