h1

WordPress impressions

September 4, 2007

So far, I’m liking WordPress quite a bit. It seems to offer many more options than Blogger. Of course, I didn’t do a *lot* of research into everything I could do with Blogger, so I could be wrong.

I love that I can easily add a custom header to my page. It really helps to personalize the page and make it better reflect me. Now, if I only knew how to alter templates or design one of my own . . .

One thing that I actually *dont* like about WordPress is that it’s easy to check to see how many people have visited my blog, where they came from, what links they clicked, etc. On Blogger, I was blissfully ignorant of whether people were reading my blog or not, save for when they commented. As some people have written recently on their blogs, it’s easy to get concerned about what people find interesting on your blog and want to read, and I *really* don’t want that to happen. Hopefully, I’ll avoid the temptation to check blog stats very often πŸ™‚

There are still so many things I don’t know about blogging, even after 6+ months of doing so. I really know nothing about RSS feeds, pingbacks, and all kinds of other things. I plan on putting a little more time into this blog, so maybe I’ll figure them all out πŸ™‚

11 comments

  1. Looking good over here! Welcome to the joys of WordPress πŸ™‚

    Happy to help with anything on the template or scripting side πŸ™‚


  2. Hahaha, funny, I feel the same, I don’t want a lot of hassle with blogging. Just want to keep it simple and so I just let my friend who owns the blog make changes and stuff if needed. Gives me more time to explore SL, post and that’s it. Nothing more, nothing less. Just like my mobile phone. It’s got everything on it, but I just use it for calling and instant messages. πŸ™‚


  3. Well Chloe, I had a Blogger blog at first but never used it. I changed to WordPress and never looked back. However, in all the months I have been blogging, I have never once been tempted to look at any stats at all. In fact, I’m not even sure I would know where to find them, and that’s fine by me πŸ™‚ I blog because I enjoy it – if anyone ever reads it, that’s a huge bonus but I don’t need to know how many people actually do. I hope you have fun with your new blog and keep the enjoyment factor. I know you are more technically minded than me so I am sure you will soon be digging around for ways to tweak it πŸ™‚ I shall look forward to seeing it’s evolution.


  4. welcoem to your new home ^^ but i have to ask, what made you want to change?


  5. Is this wordpress really better than blogger?

    I can see being able to more customise a template as being nice, but what other features besides stats are different?


  6. Welcome to WordPress Chloe


  7. Maybe I’ll just keep clicking on your website, like, 40 times a day. That way, you’ll never know how many people *really* visited.


  8. It looks nice, your new blog. Congrats!! But I have the same question as Ginseng. Is WordPress really better than Blogger?


  9. Well, you know my opinion about WordPress so far =P


  10. Congrats on your successful change to WordPress! I updated my blog link and rss-subscription accordingly.

    Concerning the difference between WordPress and Blogger, I only see that it might be easier to handle for people not familiar with the depths of HTML and CSS. But as that is my RL job anyways, I was (up to now) able to implement the stuff I needed into Blogger as well. For me, the only reason to change to WordPress would be if I’d be hosting the site myself (which is not going to happen in the near future anyways).

    Nevertheless, I hope you have fun at your new “home” πŸ™‚


  11. Wolf: I may take you up on that offer!

    Eppie: I know what you mean. I usually just learn enough to get by, but I want to really pick up more of the ins and outs of WordPress πŸ™‚

    Phoenix: I won’t tell you how to find the stats so you won’t be tempted πŸ˜‰ As for being technically minded, I can’t say I agree with that, though I try πŸ™‚

    Tiana: I think that WordPress just has more to offer. I hated the Blogger templates and was frustrated in that I didn’t know how to customize them at all. I just think that WordPress makes it easier to tweak things, from what I’ve seen so far.

    Ginseng: I’m just starting with this, so I’m not sure what all it offers over Blogger, but I just like the way it handles links, already has Flickr support built in, has a search function, etc.

    DesertWolf: Thanks! I think I’ll like it here πŸ™‚

    Dirk: u suk :p

    Looker: Thanks! Probably someone like Vint, Wolf, DesertWolf, or any of the other people who have been using WordPress for a while could tell you what all the differences are. Even without knowing all the perks of WordPress, it just *feels* better to me.

    Tobie: Conform! :p

    Timothy: Thanks for updating! And for explaining the WordPress vs. Blogger thing a bit more πŸ™‚



Leave a Reply

