h1

Flickr groups

August 9, 2007

As I mentioned in my last post, I just created a Flickr group for horror pics taken in SL. This forced me to think about the other groups of which I’m a member.

Flickr group invites come often if you have very many contacts. I only have 55, and yet it seems like I get at least one new invitation each week for a group that has just started. I don’t ever think I’ve turned down an invitation, but I almost never post my pics to a group unless specifically asked to (the exception being the Second Life group). Starting my own group has made me realize how wrong my attitude has been towards other Flickr groups.

I’ve been against adding my pics to a lot of groups, as it just seemed like “post-whoring.” I felt that it was a method used by people to get a bunch of views of their pics, and since I’m not all that interested in racking up views (though I’ll admit that I do place some significance on them), I didn’t do it.

It took creating my own group to realize just how off my attitude has been. I certainly didn’t create the SL Horror group so people could post whore (need to find a different term for that). I’m just sincerely interested in the horror images that people are creating in world. So why did I assume some of the other groups were founded to rack up views?

So, to all those people who invited me to join their groups and I haven’t supported, I’m sorry about that. I’ll do better in the future. I promise 🙂

2 comments

  1. hehe, in that case, I just invited you to a group.. you are the first person I invited… I am kind of new with the whole group thing.

    I like your new group.. I will keep my eye out on possible images that would go int it.. I think it is a great idea.


  2. Thanks for the invitation, Ginseng!

    I guess I’ll have to spend some more time with Tobie to come up with some cuddling pics for your group 🙂



Leave a Reply

