h1

Met a (naked) stranger*

July 11, 2007

Blogging about infractions of SL etiquette is nothing new and probably serves little purpose, but due to a recent encounter, I felt the need to share what I feel are proper actions to take when you happen to tp into someone’s skybox whom you don’t know and are totally in the buff (with your prim penis extended).

1) Apologize. The first thing a rational person would do.

2) Clothe yourself. Yes, you may have spent hours tweaking that shape, and you may have sacrificed numerous lindens to buy that extra member, but save it for someone who will appreciate it.

3) When you mention that you were supposed to meet someone, and I respond that your meeting was probably not happening in my skybox, take the hint. Yes, I could be more direct and tell you to get the hell out, but I’m trying my best to be civil. Please don’t be so dense as to continue to stand naked in front of me while you figure out where it is you’re supposed to go for your sexcapade. I can only resist ejecting you for so long . . .

4) Once you finally decide to leave but find that you can’t just fly through my transparent walls (which are, of course, opaque on the outside), please allow me to create an exit for you instead of flying around and telling me that you think you’ve found a way out. I can understand you might be confused, since you got in without a door (still not sure how that happened), but it’s my skybox, and I assure you that I want nothing more than to assist you in finding the quickest possible way to get out and on to your fling.

So, to my naked aquaintance from Sunday night, I hope that you’ve found these tips helpful. Oh, and one last thingโ€”my skybox is in a PG sim, so you probably shouldn’t have been flying around nude anyway. Not that the Lindens seem to care too much about that, given that I’ve seen at least one mature business in my neighborhood, but for the sake of the children, cover that thing in public ๐Ÿ˜‰

*my apologies to Myg for ripping off the title to her popular series, Met a Stranger ๐Ÿ™‚

13 comments

  1. yeah… I always loved it when people would wonder into places I worked naked and with their virtual dicks ready… Do these people just wonder around naked or something…? Luckily I never had anyone arrive at my house in the sky in Hae An during my time there, other than those I invited. My group I was borrowing land from ran out of money to keep the plot, so my house went poof yesterday, so no need to worry about that now…

    I do still wonder about those people anyways… Why go around naked…? Half the fun of sex SL or Rl is getting the other person undressed… Why strip early…?


  2. i know people dont like when you put the barriers up but i do it exactly for that reason, when people are able to use common sense and act decent i’ll take it down.

    in the meantime i’ll enjoy reading peoples noob encounters and be glad its not me. cause i wouldnt be civil about it at all ๐Ÿ˜›


  3. Heehee…I think it’s great you blogged about this, and I love the way you wrote. It’s too bad it happened right before I came to your place because I would have loved to see this character (and add my 2 cents, of course).


  4. haha… that is something else… hmm typical. Unfortunetly a very commen event.

    Hmm it does make me wonder if the person you met was a friend of your friend. Do you have any friends you take to your sky box who like to hang out with naked men?


  5. Ha! Sometimes I love it when that crap happens. Other times it really bugs me. I wonder how many of these n00bs eventually “get it.”

    And don’t worry about taking the “Met a stranger” title–we purloined it from some Sonic Youth lyrics. (“Shadow of a Doubt” on the excellent Evol album.)


  6. I always consider it good blog post fodder. Once in a while I use them for target practice.

    That said, when a noob walks around my property naked with his “member” exposed, and I’m in no mood to toy with them, I’m rather quick to eject/ban.


  7. Yeah…sorry about that, Streets. I thought I had the right LM, but apprently not.


  8. What was Dirk D. thinking? Perhaps his appointment did not show up, and he was looking for another stand?
    But I don’t think he will get a lot of succes by showing up like that, even if it was not your skybox. I think when you are being transported, where ever you are going, you have to wear some minimum clothes.
    I did like the way you discribed your encounter, Chloe.


  9. Hahaha, nice way to wrote about this. Anyway i think you were really polite in this case. When some n00b lands in my plot I talk to him/her explaining ia a private home, etc… but if he/she is a nude and/or wearing sexual attachments i’m the quickest “eject-and-ban”er in the east side of Missisippi.


  10. shadow: I’m sorry to hear about your house :/ As for stripping ahead of time . . . it reminds me of an exchange in Three Amigos:
    “Do you know what foreplay is?”
    “No.”
    “Good. Neither does El Guapo.”

    Tiana: I doubt I’d ever be pushed to the point of putting up those barriers. This is only the second newbie problem I’ve had, and it’s a fluke at that. Plus, it did give me something to blog about ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Tobie: It would have been funny to see how you would have reacted. I have a feeling that you may have been a little more direct ๐Ÿ™‚

    Ginseng: The only friends I think have even been in this skybox are Tobie and Dirk (do either of you need to tell me anything?). I don’t know how he mistakenly ended up there, though, as there is *nothing* around me.

    Alex: I didn’t know the reference. I’m so uncool ๐Ÿ™‚ I just had to leech of your and Meg’s celebrity status, though ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Zoe: For some reason, I tend to give people the benefit of the doubt and believe their misconduct is just out of ignorance. Many encounters like this, though, and I’m sure I’d be much quicker to send people away.

    Dirk: You should have known it was the wrong place. You know I can’t afford you ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Looker: It wasn’t actually Dirk, but I’ve seen much scarier things from him. *recalls a time when he was wearing a hot pink Playboy thong and shudders*

    And thank you for commenting on the writing. I had a bit of fun with this one ๐Ÿ™‚

    Raul: Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚ But what if someone arrives nude while riding a giant sperm? ๐Ÿ˜‰


  11. Celebrity?! Where? *grins* Leech all you want, Chloe. Love yr posts.


  12. Hehehe. I wonder what’d happen if I showed up nakie at her skybox. ::Giggles. Then starts poking people.:: I have a tendancy of goin ’round naked. I find it fun, doing something I can’t do in RL.. and it feeds my exhibitionalist streak. ^^; But with me, I’m not really overtly sexual, I’m not really trying to -be- sexual. It’s just fun. Now, later, things can happen cuz of it, but it’s not what I’m looking for when I do it. Which.. I’ve.. been nakie for the last three weeks or so. <.<; Then again, I have my cute fluffy outfit to go with, so.. whee! ^^


  13. Aww Katrina, who could kick you out? ๐Ÿ˜‰



Leave a Reply

