h1

The slacking blogstress

July 9, 2007

OK, I’ll admit it. I’ve been rather lax recently when it comes to this blog. It’s due to a mixture of RL intrusion plus dial-up SL frustration. I’m trying to get back into my blogging rhythm, though, and I’m going to post not once, but twice tonight, because there’s a little narcissistic Chloe inside that says, “Yes, people want to read two blog posts by you in a single day.” 😉

The first thing I want to mention is that Friday, July 6, marked my and Tobie’s second monthiversary (see, Kat, we’re still using the term). Though we didn’t get to spend the night together, we have plans for me to arrange a broadband connection for one night later on this month and celebrate then. I can’t express how happy I am that Tobie became part of my second life. It has transformed my time in world *so* much and made me a very happy little kitty 🙂 Actually, I would go so far as to say that it has transformed *me* a bit, and for the better.

To be honest, I’m somewhat glad that we didn’t spend our monthiversary together, because I think it would have been a night of frustration. Dial-up SL is starting to lose its charm. Certainly, I’m happy to be back in world and able to do some of the things I hadn’t for over a month, but when SL decides it doesn’t want to cooperate, attempting to do *anything* becomes a very unsatisfying endeavor. On Saturday, I simply wanted to take a few pics for a blog post I plan to write (actually, it should be the second I post tonight). Even when SL wasn’t crashing on me (which it did several times), it still prevented me from changing outfits. It would *start* to change them, but then it stopped and refused to resume no matter how long I waited. Obviously, this is a big hindrance when I’m wanting to snap off a few shots.

Another annoyance is shopping with dial-up. First, I thought I couldn’t do it. Later, I discovered I could. Now, I know that I have to be very, very careful where I try to shop. I’ve discovered that ETD is a definite no-no. Though SL will generally seem stable for a while when I’m there, I invariably end up crashing. And when I crash at ETD, I seem to crash hard, taking down my whole computer as well.

I’m curious how I will fare when I attempt the blogger meet with dial-up. I’ve yet to try being in a group with such a slow connection. At the very least, my chat will be incredibly lagged—I have no doubt of that. I just hope that as long as I stand still (or lounge with my favorite neko), I can avoid crashing. *crosses fingers*

Anyway, let’s try to end this on a positive note. I need to quit being so negative, as that just makes me seem I’m out for sympathy for my horrid dial-up connection (not the case—honest!). I *am* happy that I’ve been able to reconnect with many of you in world, even though my connection hasn’t made it as easy as it once was. And if I’ve ignored you at all in the time I’ve been back, either by not IMing you or by cutting conversations short, please forgive me. It’s not a matter of not wanting to talk to you. It’s a matter of limited bandwidth and how difficult that makes it to multi-task in world.

4 comments

  1. “And if I’ve ignored you at all in the time I’ve been back, either by not IMing you or by cutting conversations short, please forgive me. It’s not a matter of not wanting to talk to you. It’s a matter of limited bandwidth and how difficult that makes it to multi-task in world.”

    Liar…it’s because you’re too busy talking to me! =D


  2. Hey you are blogging a hell of a lot more than I am. Actually you are inspiring me to get moving on mine again.

    Oh and October : LMAO, that would have been my guess too ;o)


  3. *giggles* Make that my guess as well… 😉

    Yeah, even on broadband certain stores in SL are guaranteed to crash me sooner or later… Nomine comes to mind…

    I’m still hoping I can get an invite to that party (did join the SL group for bloggers to), so I can meet you. ^_^


  4. Tobie: Hey, don’t call me a liar! :p You’re part of that multi-tasking I was talking about.

    Wolf: I’ve been waiting to see you post something new to your blog. I hope you find the motivation to do so 🙂

    Shadow: Yeah, crashing was definitely an occasional hindrance in my broadband days, but now . . . ugh!

    Oh, and if you joined the SL bloggers group, then you should receive notices about the party. A notice should be sent out the day of the party with a landmark. I believe dinee Ghia is hosting. You might check her blog for more info (it’s on my list of links). Look forward to seeing you there 🙂



Leave a Reply

