h1

Stars and stripes and stuff forever

July 5, 2007

Not to alienate any non-U.S. readers I may have out there, but did you have a good Independence Day? Mine was so-so. Not exciting, but I didn’t expect it to be. I have a party to go to this weekend, so I can hold out on the merry-making until then ๐Ÿ™‚

Anyhoo, we’re not here for my RL nonsense, so let’s talk SL.

Last night (well, actually the night before last since I’m writing this the morning of July 5, but bear with me), I got to talk to Tobie, Dirk, Sexy, Katrina, and Tommy. It was good being able to talk with everyone. I discovered that, for some reason, chat gets *really* laggy for me when on dial-up, while IMs seem to have very little lag, if any. I’m not sure why this is, but it’s going to be a pain when I try to go places where there are several people, such as the next blogger meet (for which I bought my costume tonight. Arrgh!).

While talking to Dirk, he mentioned that he likes to afk people. I had no idea what this was, so he explained to me that when you afk someone, you place objects around his/her avie while (s)he is away. I believe the idea is to try to embarrass the person. A little later, Dirk goes away. Hmm . . . did he *want* me to afk him? Whether he did or not, I did my best, though I’ll need more embarrassing objects in my inventory if I’m to do this in the future.

Holy trinity?

Later, Tobie tped in to see me. Of course, I always thrilled to spend time with my favorite kitten ๐Ÿ™‚ She seemed happy to see me, too. Well, at least part of me ๐Ÿ™‚

Yeah, um, my eyes are up here

Finally, Tobie got tuckered out and called it a night. It wasn’t long after I did the same.

Tonight (um, same disclaimer as before), I got to IM with Tobie a bit while she roleplayed in Midian. Afterwards, I gave shopping another go. I first stopped at YoHo’s, Annie’s new shop. It took a bit of waiting and crossing my fingers that I wouldn’t crash, but I made my first purchase in world in over a month! Yay, consumerism! I tried to buy another item. Success! I got very excited and decided to face my foe from the other night: Temenos Island.

Annie’s new store!

OK, I realize this is running long, so let me just say that I was able to buy what I wanted at Temenos without crashing. In all, I managed to spend about L$800 tonight. Just doing my part for the economy ๐Ÿ™‚

7 comments

  1. Glad to hear you are managing well in there on your dialup link :o)

    Just for reference, chat is WAY more resource heavy than IM cos it has work out which avatars (and objects) will be able to hear what is said by everyone. Most of that is server-side but it does affect the client too.


  2. Woohoo…I can’t wait to see my sexy kitty and her pirate outfit ๐Ÿ˜‰


  3. Thanks, Wolf ๐Ÿ™‚ I didn’t know that about chat. It was *so* bad. I hope it’s not always that laggy.

    You didn’t have to wait very long, Tobie, though I’m sure you’ll enjoy it more in person ๐Ÿ™‚


  4. I’m rather impressed that SL works at all over dial-up…

    You know I’ve been reading your page off and on for nearly a month, but I have forgotten to bookmark it each time I find it again (though I did remember to bookmark Tobie’s *giggle*)? I also haven’t commented before… So I figured I’d have to fix that… ^_^

    Btw what is this ‘blogger meet’ (which sounds incredibly fun) your talking about? This little kitty wants invited to the party!


  5. Thanks for reading, Shadow, and thank you for finally commenting ๐Ÿ™‚

    The blogger meet is a monthly in world meeting for people who blog about SL. The next meet is coming up on July 15. If you join the Second Life Bloggers group, you will receive group notices in world about the meets. For each meet, there is a theme. The last two have been neko and sci-fi, and it looks like the next will be pirate. While I think talking about blogging is supposed to be on the agenda, the meets (from my experience) tend to be a social gathering to talk pretty much about any and everything ๐Ÿ™‚


  6. *giggles* I went searching for info after you mentioned it and found the wiki and all RL… Didn’t know about the group SL though… Must join that… ^_^


  7. Glad you were able to find the info you were looking for ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hope to see you at the meet!



Leave a Reply

