h1

ass|u|me

July 2, 2007

Whenever you assume, you make an ass out of you and me.

Heard that before? Probably. If not, well now you have 🙂

I try not to work merely off assumptions. I think part of the reason is that I don’t like to be wrong, so I always want to be sure I’ve done the work to support any belief I have.

Yet, when it came to SL, I made an assumption. I assumed it would be impossible for me to log in using dial-up.

Today, Tobie sent me an e-mail telling me that someone was in Midian last night using dial-up, so I opened up SL. I put most of my settings to the minimum values. I typed in my password and watched the screen.

And much more quickly than I could have guessed, I was in SL.

Sure, when I logged in, I was naked and Ruthed. Everything rezzed around me slowly. When I tried to move, the lag between keystroke and on-screen movement was 5-10 seconds. But I was in SL for the first time in over a month.

I knew there was a reason I liked Tobie beyond her undeniable cuteness 🙂

Feel free to call me an ass now.

7 comments

  1. Woo hoo!!!! So very, very happy for you, Chloe {huge happy smiles} Enjoy 🙂 {hugs}


  2. Yay!!!! Excellent news. I guess you risk dropping your connection if you move around too much and lose too many packets of data, but at least you are in!! It was not an unreasonable assumption given that Linden states you need broadband access! I shall happily stop working on my Chloe-chat application knowing that you are back with us :o)


  3. Thanks, you two! And that was so cool that you were trying to come up with something for me, Wolf. I appreciate it! 🙂


  4. Ass.


  5. But what an ass it is…

    *purrowr*

    =3


  6. Well Tobie already said it, so don’t want to rub it in…
    we expect you to make an appearance at the next blogger meet, even if you move like an old lady…hehe
    Welcome back!


  7. Dirk: If anyone were going to take me up on my offer, I should have known it would be you. u suk :p

    *blushes at Tobie’s comment*

    If anyone were to know, though . . . 🙂

    DesertWolf: Thank you! If it’s possible, I’ll try to be there. Not sure if I’ll be all pirated out and stuff, though, since I can’t shop right now (oh, the horror!).



Leave a Reply

