h1

SL projects

June 29, 2007

So, I’ve been thinking quite a bit of what all I want to do when I return to SL. Of course, seeing old friends and spending time with Tobie tops the list, but there are numerous projects that I’ve had in mind for a while that I really want to work on. Here’s a quick list:

1) Build something on my land. A couple of days before I left SL, I bought more land. Probably not the best idea, since I’m paying a higher tier now, but I don’t always think things through before I act on them 🙂 Anyway, I have something like 2560 sq.m. to work with, and I want to build something interesting on it. I have an idea about building a section of a dystopian city on one part of the land and a sort of underground movement headquarters on the other part. I’m thinking of something along the lines of V for Vendetta, but I plan on drawing upon a lot of different influences, including movies like Metropolis and, of course, 1984. I know that I want to come up with clothing, and I’ll need to make custom poses as well, which I feel a little better about after reading Tiana’s Qavimator tutorial. It will be a big project, but I look forward to starting it 🙂

2) Design clothing/skins/etc. Because I was planning a trip to Little Silent Hill, I designed a costume based on Maria from the second game in the series. Though the costume wasn’t perfect, I was pleased with it, and I considered doing a line of costumes/avies based on characters from the games (big Silent Hill fan). I started a costume for Lisa Garland from the first game, but I never finished it. I would like to get back on this project and come up with costumes and avies for my favorite characters. Also, I want to design more of my own clothing to make my wardrobe a little more unique as well as to improve my skills, and I think it would really be cool if I managed to design a unique skin for my avie. Hmm . . . I may as well add hair in here as well, though that seems like it would be kinda hard to me.

3) Set up a photo studio. I’m not a great photographer. I know this. I do like to take pics in SL, though, and I want to improve as much as I can. Depending on how many of my prim allowance my new build takes, I may also build a photo studio on my land so that I can be a little more in control of lighting, etc., and hopefully come up with better pics.

4) Create my comic. A while back, I had an idea for a comic parodying ’50s horror movies, but I never really got started on it. If you’ve seen The Lost Skeleton of Cadavra, you have an idea what I am going for. I think it could be a really fun project.

OK, I think that’s it for now. At least, that’s all I can think of this late at night 🙂 Ciao for now.

4 comments

  1. Wow, loads of positive stuff going on! Very good to see :o)

    1) I just bought some new land last night, and am also thinking about what I could do with it. It’s big enough for a new home, my planned club and maybe a store or two, so lots of potential. I shall be interested to see what you build on yours!

    2) The clothing design is at least something you could be doing a bit of while out of SL. Again, very much looking forward to seeing the results. Hair is not too bad actually, once you get some good textures (loads of good packs on SL Exchange) and work out the best prims to use.

    3) LOL. This seems to be a popular idea. Phoenix is setting up her own studio and I am planning one too. It will be cool to see how well we all do.

    4) Love the comic idea! Again, eagerly anticipating.

    Brilliant to hear you so buzzing with lots of cool ideas. Keeping my fingers crossed for you getting back in soon.


  2. Glad to see your looking ahead to when you get back in world. As Wolf said there are some of those things you can work on while out of SL, like the clothes and the animations (except for some of the finalizing), so looking forward to seeing what you come up with during your hiatus. 🙂


  3. You never mentioned the comic idea to me, babe! If you need any models, er, characters to work with, I’m sure I can help out with that =)

    Have I mentioned in the last 5 minutes how much I miss you?


  4. Wolf: Congrats on the new land purchase! As for designing clothes, yes I could work on that now, but I hate the thought of having to wait to see how they turn out. I’ll probably make at least a few articles before I come back, though 🙂 It does feel good having so many things I want to do. Now it’s just a matter of mustering the motivation to begin working on them 😉

    DesertWolf—hmm, seem to be attracting the wolves with this post ;)—I look forward to showing off some of my stuff. Maybe I’ll post some of the planning stuff on my blog so that people have an idea of what I’m working on. Also, I’m still trying to get SLeek to work. Keeping my fingers crossed that I’ll find a way to get it running 🙂

    Tobie: May I direct your attention to this post. I guess you haven’t been reading my blog very closely :p Hee-hee.

    Anyway, you know I’d love to have your help, babe 🙂 And, no, I don’t think you’ve mentioned that you miss me 😉

    *kisses*



Leave a Reply

