h1

Farewell, Super Fun Happy Club

May 27, 2007

Yesterday, I attended the closing party for Super Fun Happy Club (SFHC). In case you’re not familiar with SFHC, it was an installation by Arahan Claveau that sought to inform about the injustices faced by gay and lesbian individuals throughout the world. I remember seeing images of SFHC on Flickr (generally in Arahan’s photostream), but I didn’t really know what it all was about until I read about it on Codie’s blog. She mentioned there that Arahan was closing the installation, so I made it a priority to visit it the next time I logged in.

SFHC was of special interest to me due to recently starting a relationship with Tobie. As I mentioned in an earlier post, this is the first time I’ve ever attempted a relationship with another woman for a few reasons. One is that it is something that would not be accepted by my family (and at least some of my friends). Countless times when I was younger, I had the idea reinforced by the statements of friends and family that such a lifestyle was wrong, perverse, and outright disgusting. Even as I managed to distance myself from such influences and became more accepting of different lifestyles, I still couldn’t picture myself in any role than that which had been set out for me. Eventually, I would meet a nice guy, get married, etc., etc. I didn’t even think of any alternatives.

Another reason I never tried such a relationship is that I never would admit to myself that I had an attraction to someone of the same sex. I had close friends whom I loved, but that was it. They were friends. I can’t say that I ever felt more than just friendship for any of them, as it’s hard for me to do that retrospectively. At the time, I labeled them as very good friends, and that’s the way I continue to see them.

A final reason I never considered such a relationship is because no one has ever really pushed my boundaries. I would never be the initiator of such a relationship—it’s just not in me. If Tobie hadn’t attempted to get a reaction out of me, we would likely still just be good friends, and I would continue to consider myself completely straight instead of bi.

Because of all this, SFHC now had some relevance to my personal life. I certainly would have been interested in seeing the installation before, but now it had that much more of a meaning for me. I remember what an eye-opening experience it was to read about the prejudice that still exists in the world. I had no idea that to be anything other than straight meant death in some countries. Of course, it can mean death even in our own, as there seem to be plenty of people willing to take out their own anger and frustration on the GLBT community. But to see governments punishing people with death for something that is in no way a crime . . .

Tobie and I later visited SFHC together, as she had yet to see it. While there, Arahan tped in, and we spent the rest of the night talking to him and Raul Crimson, who arrived later. Both of them attempt to address GLBT issues with their art (check their Flickr photostreams to get a sense of what they’re doing), and I feel fortunate that such people are around to continue pressing the issue and not just fading into the background. In fact, that is the meaning behind the name Super Fun Happy Club, as I remember it from one of the notecards in the installation. It stated that too often, people in the GLBT community act as if everything is OK, when it is in fact not. We can’t ignore all the prejudice and injustice that persists in the world.

Because of all this, SFHC was special to me, and I was sad to see it go. I hope that Arahan continues his work and comes up with something new soon. He had a lot of people show up for the closing party last night. A lot of people who appreciate what he did. A lot of people who want him to keep forcing people to question what they believe through his art.

Arahan at the closing party.

Farewell, Super Fun Happy Club. I’m better for having known you 🙂

If you’re interested in seeing more images from the party last night, you can check my Flickr photosteam as well as those of Arahan, Raul, Looker Lumet, and many others who attended the party.

3 comments

  1. Very well-put, sweetie. =)

    *hugs*


  2. Thanks, babe 🙂

    *hugs back*


  3. Dear Chloe,

    I cannot believe that I only discovered this blog post recently. SFHC was such a bitter-sweet experience so it’s reassuring to hear your story. Hope you’re doing OK.

    http://arahanclaveau.blogspot.com/2010/09/straighten-up-and-fly-right.html

    -Arahan- xxx



Leave a Reply

