h1

Concerts and kitties and cool guys

May 25, 2007

Today’s been a mixed bag in SL, making me both very happy and rather sad. Let’s forget the sad stuff for a bit and dip into the all the good things that happened first.

I got to see my friend Annie’s band Toe’d Up play for the first time since April 28 πŸ™‚ Yes, once again, I have to mention how awesome they are. I’d really like to see these guys go on to bigger and better things. I think they have the talent. They just need their break.

Annie and the boys on stage.

Today, they once again played a mixture of covers and original songs as they’ve done before, though they changed the playlist a little, adding such songs as Radiohead’s “Creep.” There were a *lot* of people in attendance at Sanctuary Rock, and the lag was bad, but it’s always good to be able to see them play in world. All the group members were on stage (at least the ones I’ve seen before) except for Geo, so I still haven’t managed to capture the entire group together in a pic. Maybe someday πŸ™‚ Anyway, another fantastic show. Toe’d Up rocks! πŸ™‚

After the concert, I wasted some time wandering the grid and taking a few pics. I didn’t manage to take many, but I like the few that I decided to keep and upload to Flickr. Once again, I wore my black tabby Hybrid skin along with some hair and piercings I had just bought from Deviant Kitties (*love* DK hair).

Behind the club Backyard.

Finally, Tobie logged on, and I talked to her a bit while she was in Midian and I was shopping for a motorcycle, which I’ve still yet to buy. There’s an event this weekend at Chopperz (I think) that will showcase many of the bikes offered in SL, so it might be something to attend if you’re interested in seeing what’s out there. Not sure if I’ll make it there or not.

Anyway, back to Tobie. She eventually got tired of Midian and returned to her skybox, and I tped in to spend some time with her. As always, I was very happy to see her, and I think we got to talk for an hour or so before she had to log off and go to bed πŸ™‚

After Tobie left, I logged off for a while, until I saw in my e-mail that my friend Dirk had sent me an IM to see if I was in world (the friends list wasn’t working well at all today). Since I wanted to talk to him, I logged back into SL, and he ended up tping into the temporary skybox I have rezzed on my land. He made me laugh several times tonight with a gesture he kept using, and we talked about what’s going on in both our lives. He’s a really cool guy, and I’m glad that I met him, as he made me feel a little bit better πŸ™‚

So, this is where I get to the not-so-happy part of my post. Feel free to quit reading now, if you like πŸ™‚

Question: have you ever had something looming on the horizon, yet you continually ignore it, until one day you realize the event is practically upon you, and you’re not really prepared? If you have no idea what I’m talking about, that’s OK, as I worded that more abstractly than probably was necessary.

Anyway, to get to the point, I have known for a while that I’m going to be moving soon. I finished my degree at the beginning of this month, and my lease is up May 31. Probably doesn’t seem like a big deal, right? You leave one place, you move to another and life goes on. Well, here’s the problemβ€”the area I’m temporarily moving to does not have broadband access, so I’ll be limited to dial-up. Yeah, dial-up.

Of course, this means that I won’t be able to log into SL until I move once again. The thing is, I knew this was coming, but I totally put it out of my mind. I mean, I even added almost L$7000 to my account today because it was getting low, not realizing that I have less than a week left in SL until I move.

So, yeah, that’s it. I have 4-5 nights of SL left before I have to take a hiatus. I may only be gone for a week. Maybe a month. I don’t know. What I do know is that I’ll miss my SL friends dearly 😦

I actually debated over whether or not to make this post, as I *will* be back. I just didn’t want people to think I had disappeared, I guess.

But there’s no need for goodbyes or anything now. I still have a bit of time left. Maybe I’ll see some of you around πŸ™‚

10 comments

  1. ACK!

    Chloe, I hope this will be a very short hiatus. We’ll miss you on the blogosphere. Your introspections are a valuable part of my reading.

    We’ll have to get a few of us together before your RL move.


  2. Unfortunately, Chloe told me about her hiatus only last night, though this is something I probably should have figured out on my own, honestly.

    But anyway, she and I are very attached to each other now, so although it’s going to be difficult, we will at least still have email and IMs to hold us over. But it will be really hard not to see my beautiful, sweet kitty.

    On another note, Annie looks stunning as usual, huh? Mrow!


  3. i hope you wont be gone too long, we’ll miss you a lot while your gone.


  4. Zoe, that would be nice πŸ™‚ I’m hoping that my absence is *very* short, as well all know how quickly things change in SL.

    Tobie, I’m *really* sorry I didn’t tell you earlier, as I thought I had. Not something I wanted to spring on you. And you know I’ll miss you a lot, but at least we *will* be in contact with each other πŸ™‚

    And thanks, Tiana. I’ll miss you guys, too. I’m glad I got to meet you all at the blogger meets, even if I said practically nothing both times :/ Don’t know if I’ll make it to the next meet, but I hope I’ll be able to attend the one in July πŸ™‚


  5. Well, like Tobie’s said, there’s always e-mail and IM programs. It’ll be sad not to see yah ’round. And she can still blog, just won’t have any real SL connotations to it. She can talk ’bout what’s goin on.. how she feels.. uhm.. stuff? <.<; Anyway.. If yah want to talk at me durring your absence, just say somethin, I have plenty of IMs to go with. ::Giggles. Nods.:: I hope you get back in soon though.


  6. Hurry back to us Chloe, you’ll be missed πŸ™‚


  7. Owww. But blogs can run on dial up. No? And you can still buy things over SLBoutique. And maybe they get the Sleek thingie going again.

    Shall we keep an eye on Tobie for you? πŸ˜‰


  8. Kat, I’ll definitely be using e-mail and IM πŸ™‚ Probably won’t blog, as this *is* supposed to be a blog about my second life (regardless of the RL issues I let creep in), but I’ll certainly be checking everyone else’s blogs and Flickr pages, even though they will take *forever* to load πŸ™‚

    Thanks, Phoenix! Believe me, I’ll be gone no longer than is necessary πŸ™‚

    Vint, yes, I expect everyone to keep an eye on my Tobie πŸ™‚ Keep her out of trouble and stuff πŸ˜‰


  9. I hope everything gets sorted out quickly and you are back sling it soon lady! ❀ xxx


  10. Thanks, Annie πŸ™‚



Leave a Reply

