h1

Lovely, lovely insomnia

May 22, 2007

Ugh, it’s a quarter after six in the morning as I start this post, and I’m suffering from a bout of insomnia. What better time to write some nonsense on my blog? 🙂

Actually, the fact that I can’t seem to get to sleep right now reminds me of why I started SL in the first place. I found myself up at night, and having heard of SL a few months beforehand, decided that I would give the game a try.

Yes, I thought it was a game. Another Sims, in which I would make my own little 3-D person, give her a little social life, and spend a few hours having her do some of the things I wasn’t doing in RL, like spend exorbidant amounts of money on clothes (OK, OK, it actually took me a while before I went nuts with the clothes shopping). Quickly, though, I realized that this was more than just a game.

I soon became addicted, and I spent sleepless night after sleepless night exploring the grid. At first, I was just interested in the possibilities of this virtual world. The idea of building, making clothes, etc., really appealed to me. Soon enough, though, I met some great people—people who were kind, generous, and interesting. People often unlike those around me in RL.

In many ways, SL has been therapeutic. It’s helped me through the end of a relationship, the completion of my degree, and, well, the sleepless nights that might have driven me crazy otherwise 🙂 It’s forced me to look at some of my beliefs and question some of my prejudices. It’s been a confusing but wonderful experience.

Hmm . . . where am I going with this post? Let me think a sec . . .

Oh, I guess part of what has me writing is that a lot of people I’ve talked to in SL have really sad stories, and maybe I’m just trying to remind myself of how beneficial the experience has been for me as I’ve worked through issues in my life over the last few months. Maybe I’m typing all this to remind myself to always be caring and patient and to approach everything with an open mind. Maybe I’m trying to encourage myself to be helpful and never be judgmental.

Or maybe I shouldn’t be typing this early in the morning after not getting any sleep 🙂

Hee-hee, maybe I should just start posting bits of news here and forego the introspective ramblings.

Um, so have you seen the new clouds, etc., we’ll be getting? Yeah, pretty neat, huh? 🙂

5 comments

  1. I like clouds; they taste like cotton candy.


  2. ::Smiles. Nods at the clouds. Hugs and nuzzles and cuddles poor Chloe.:; Sorry you’re not gettin much sleep hun. I know how that’s like, since it’s normal for me not to get sleep. ._. I hope you feel better, and it was a joy talkin with yah this morning. ^.^


  3. Please don’t stop the introspective ramblings, Chloe. They are my favourite part 🙂 Hope you get some sleep {hugs}


  4. I loe the introspection, too. Please please continue. I’ve been there, hell I’m always there


  5. Mmmm . . . cotton candy . . .

    Thanks, all 🙂 I did manage to get some sleep, so I’m all bright-eyed and bushy-tailed and stuff, um, even though it’s after 3 AM as I write this 🙂

    Yeah, and I don’t think I could keep the blog going without the introspection. My neuroses demand to be shared 🙂



Leave a Reply

