h1

Three months

May 5, 2007

Today, May 5, marks three months for me in SL.

I’m astounded that so much has happened to me in SL in that time. I look at the same period in RL, and it all runs together—about ninety days of teaching class, studying, and procrastinating. But in SL, my avie has transformed significantly.

Who am I kidding? I have transformed significantly in that time.

It’s strange, but SL has helped me to work out some things in RL, and at the same time, it has introduced new issues I have yet to deal with. Externally, I am the same person in RL, but my time in SL has helped to alter some of my perceptions and discover some new things about myself. At this point, I think the SL Chloe reflects what’s going on with me better than could ever be perceived from the RL Chloe.

I’ve finally lifted some of the restraints from SL Chloe to see where she’ll go. Though it’s a little scary, I’m excited to see what happens.

5 comments

  1. I, too, have seen SL making me look at things a new way in real life. I think it’s a wonderful, positive experience – this virtual world.

    Congrats on your SL anniversary!


  2. Congratuations, hon =)

    I totally understand where you’re coming from too. Initially my SL (and my av especially) was a reflection of my rl, now it kind of goes both ways. It has also rekindled my love of photography, which I had sort of put on a back burner after I stopped doing it professionally.

    There’s more I could say, but I don’t want to hog up your comments =)


  3. Thank you very much, Shanna! I’m glad that SL has benefitted you as well, and I hope that it continues to 🙂

    Hee-hee, and yes Tobie, don’t scare off the multitudes wanting to post in my comments section :p

    You know we keep giving this credit to SL, but it’s merely the medium. Certainly, I’m thankful for it, but the people who make up the SL community, both in world and on Flickr, are who guarantee my return on an almost daily basis 🙂


  4. I know it’s an older post, but still, my two cents: SL has done alot for alot of people. I’m in the same boat as you, Chloe, I think. It’s helped me find.. well.. me. ::Nods.:: It lets me be who, what I want to be. Which is an incredible resource to me. It’s slowly starting to evolve my RL as well, into what I want to really be. RL wise, I’ve always been a loner, very very shy.. I’m pretty sure you noticed I’m not all that shy in SL. I like being able to express myself that way. It’s almost theraputic. ^^;


  5. Thanks for sharing that, Katrina 🙂

    Tobie told me at one point that SL brings out of you what *needs* to come out.

    I’m not sure what level of overlap there will be between my SL and my RL, but I know that what has transpired in SL has really forced me to question some things in RL.



Leave a Reply

