h1

Good night, great people

March 27, 2007

Last night I returned to SL after being off most the weekend (I did log on in a moment of weakness Saturday night and talked to Codie for several hours). I did my best to make up for lost time 🙂

I started off the night shopping, which should not be in the least bit surprising. I visited BareRose Tokyo for the first time, and though the shopping went slowly because of the heavy lag, I fell in love with the store. They have a huge selection of clothing, and had I not shown some restraint, I could have gone broke easily 🙂

While shopping, Codie offered to teleport me to a party at the Code Red Lounge. Unfortunately, things didn’t work out so that I could join in the festivities (though I do plan on going to the fundraiser this weekend).

The most exciting part of the night came when October IMed me and offered to show me around Pleasantville—and no, I’m not just saying that because she might read this post 🙂 I know I’ve mentioned this before, but it was because of October’s pics on Flickr that I ever decided to try out being a neko. Meeting up with October was like meeting a SL celebrity, and I was thrilled that she was willing to take time to hang out with me.

Pleasantville was really remarkable. For one, it’s big. It’s also thoughtfully put together (at least, it seems so). Practically everything I saw had character, from the playground-turned-toxic-waste-dump to the human skin rug to the mines that run under (or is that over?) the city. I was surprised to see so much time and effort put into something that wasn’t commercial. Very cool. Kriss and Jezebella should be proud.

Speaking of Kriss, we actually ran across her when in the mines. She was in the process of working on them, but we had a chance to talk a bit. I was happy to find that she was very cool and easy to talk to. I’m always a little apprehensive about meeting artistic people because I think they’ll be dismissive of anyone outside their own clique. Damn stereotypes 🙂

Anyway, I had a great time. Got to see some cool builds and meet some cool people.

I finished up the night doing yet more shopping, but this time I had my friend FallOutBoy join me. We had a good time hitting several stores, buying everything from clothes to boots to a collar that October had showed me earlier in the night. FOB made the comment that she was glad I didn’t live close to her in RL because she would be broke all the time 🙂 I guess shopping is infectious 😉 Overall, I spent L$1400-1500 last night, which isn’t bad, considering I ended up with three new pairs of boots, a few new outfits, and some accessories. Considering all the new items, I’m surprised I didn’t spend more 🙂 Before logging off, FOB and I made a quick trip to Svarga to take a few pics. I think this is my favorite out of the bunch:


Good times 🙂

4 comments

  1. Hon, I’m hardly a SL celebrity by any stretch. A socialite and occasional newbie philanthropist? Maybe. But that’s about it. I had fun showing you around, but I totally forgot to show you my skybox too. The next time you’re on and if we hang out, I’ll show it to you.


  2. I felt the same way when I saw Sidney Smalls in world.

    I just get excited when I actually meet someone online whose work I admire.

    Sorry, I hope the “SL celebrity” comment didn’t come off like I was being insincere.

    🙂


  3. Insincere? Of course not hon! I’m flattered =)


  4. Good 🙂



Leave a Reply

